flowers with love
| 123orissa Home | District Information |

Bolangir District :: Introduction

         Is one of the major commercial townships in the western part of Orissa. Bolangir includes elegant temples along with the hill Gandhamardan. On this hill there exists an exquisite picnic spot called Harishankar. Several unique monuments in addition to a couple of waterfalls serve in calling the attention Of tourists.

          Bolangir district is honoured for the important visiting places like Harisankar, Chandra, Papakshya Ghat, Nabagraha Kunda, Debi Chandlipat, Turekela, Jogisarada and Ranipursarial.

Important Places

Harisankara : It stands at the foot of the picturesque gandhamardana hill at a distance of 140 km. from the Sambalpur.The 15th centuary Vishnu temple ,Bhairabi temples having an inscription with the porto-Oriya script and papanasi spring are the visiting places of Harisankar.

: It is situated at a distance of 4 km. from Binka .It is famous for Kapilaswar Temple.

Papakshya Ghat
: It is situated at a distance of 4 km. from Binka. It is famous for Radhakrusna temple and Banhha Bata.

Nabagraha kunda : It is famous for stone images of Nabagraha.

: It is siated at a distance of 25 km. from Balangir is famous for Jogeswar temple. The temple of Goddes Lankeswari is situated on hillock. and also there are so many temples situated at patnagarh. It became a new district  recently.

Debi chandlipat
: It is situated at a distance of 11 km. from Binka. Its turnel way is famous.

Ranipur jharial
: It is situated at a distance of 29 km. from titlagah. It is famous for 64 yogini andvisnuTemples .

General Information About Bolangir District

Area 6569Sq.Km.


Population 13,35,760 Literacy Rate 54.93%
Head quarter Bolangir Vidhansabha seats 5
Sub division 3 Villages 1792
Blocks 14 Grama panchayat 241
Municipality 2 Towns 4
N.A.C 3 Temperature 46.1(Max), 3.1(Min)
Tahasils 4 Rainfall 1215.6mm(Avg)


Blocks Tahasils Subdivisions
1. Balangir sadar
2. Tentulikhunti
3. Deogaon
4. Puintola
5. Loisingha
6. Agalpur
7. Patnagarh
8. Belpada
9. Khaparakhol
10. Turkela
11. Bagamunda
12. Muribahal
13. Saintala
14. Titilagarh sadar
1. Balangir
2. Titilagarh
3. Patnagarh
4. Rampur
5 . Kantabanji
6 . Tusara
1. Balangir
2. Titilagarh
3. Patnagarh

Road map of Bolangir District

  • Government
  • Dist. Information
  • Industry
  • Business & Finance
  • Information Tech
  • Entertainment
  • Wild Life
  • Art & Culture
  • Orissa Tourism
  • Hotels
  • Education
  • Temples
  • Matrimonial
  • Job Search
  • Astrology
  • Oriya Panji
  • Vaastu
  • Weather Forecast
  • Daily News
  • Eminent Persons
  • Std Codes
  • Guest Book
  • Online Shopping
  • Gifts & Toys
Copyright © 2002 www.123orissa.com
All rights reserved